Hypo-allergenic Hairspray

About two years ago when my allergies hit an all-time high, I was experiencing swollen eyes each morning, my face and neck had red patches, and my scalp itched constantly. Now, one of these annoyances would have possibly been tolerable, but all three were more than I wanted to deal with. I knew it was time to find out what was going on and make some changes.

The first thing I did was pay attention to everything coming in contact with my eyes, face, neck, and scalp. This could be facial cleansing products, shampoo, cosmetics, hairspray, or fragrance/scent from other products used in my daily primping ritual. I suspected my cosmetics, but knew this would have no impact on my neck and scalp. The next thing that came to mind was hairspray, which is the one product that hits all affected areas. So I quit using hairspray. Day two of being hairspray free showed improvement in my red and swollen eyes. By day three, the itchy patches on my scalp and neck were better too.

As always, I began doing research to find out what is in hairspray that could cause an allergic reaction. Certain ingredients and preservatives such as, parabens, imidazolidinyl urea, Quaternium-15, DMDM hydantoin, phenoxyethanol, methylchloroisothiazolinone, and formaldehyde, are associated with increased allergic reactions. The interesting part is I don’t have to actually use the hairspray… simply walking into a room where someone else has used hairspray can cause problems too. This is because the hairspray causes cells in your body responsible for fighting allergies to release a substance known as histamines. These histamines cause swelling and mucus secretions in the eyes, nose and throat. This certainly explains why my eyes were red and swollen. And, because I was using the product and it was coming in direct contact with my skin, I was experiencing skin allergies as well.

At this point I had to ask myself the BIG question. Can I break my hairspray addiction and continue having these bad hair days? How much is my vanity worth? Well, thank goodness I discovered NEW IMAGE hairspray, a hypo-allergenic spray without fragrances, lanolin, oils, lacquers, and other allergy causing ingredients. NEW IMAGE is available at a local beauty supply store for about $6.50 for 10 ounces. Score! Not only does it work, but it is inexpensive.

I am happy with the results and am no longer “scratching my head” in regard to hairspray allergies.

Strive to be healthy!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 428 other followers

