Vinegar: No Longer Only For Cooking and Cleaning

I am a rare individual who suffers from recurring shingles due to a weakened immune system. Most people will have shingles once or twice in their lifetime, but I guess I had to be different… I will experience a shingles breakout sometimes as often as once a month.

Shingles is a painful, blistering skin rash due to the virus that causes chickenpox. After you get chickenpox, the virus remains inactive, or dormant, in certain nerves in the body. Years later when the virus becomes active again, it presents itself as shingles. Once a shingles breakout occurs, the cycle will last from 5 to 7 days.

For years, I tried everything to help with the pain, itching, and discomfort. My doctor prescribed medication, creams, and ointments, but nothing seemed to give me relief. Until… you guessed it… vinegar. Okay, let me explain how vinegar even became a consideration.

Last summer, my husband had a common condition called folliculitis. He spent so much time out in the heat, he experienced inflammation of the hair follicles on his chest. After trying the usual remedies with no success, he searched the internet for holistic cures. He found that vinegar is a powerful antibacterial and proceeded to rub it on his chest. I resisted the urge to add oil, salt, and pepper and began to monitor his progress. The vinegar worked beautifully. As I thought about the impact vinegar had on folliculitis, I wondered what it would do for shingles since they are both skin rashes.

Shingles are a funny thing because I will begin to have symptoms prior to the virus actually breaking out on my skin. I will know a day ahead of time that they are on the way. My skin will tingle, burn, and feel generally irritated in the area where the breakout plans to rear its ugly head.

Three times now I have applied vinegar to this area of discomfort prior to breakout. Again, keep in mind, this is prior to the shingles full-blown eruption to the surface or blistering. All three times, the breakout was reduced to a small red dot that never blistered, itched, or caused pain. Once again I found an unexpected miracle in a common household product.

Vinegar is no longer only for cooking and cleaning…

Strive to be healthy!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rose Hashemi
    Jan 24, 2012 @ 11:20:29

    Hi Vickie!
    Cool! I’ve also known that vinegar taken internally, will lower LDL (bad choleaterol) levels. Such a useful, versatile and inexpensive ‘medicine’.
    Rose

    Reply

  2. Patricia
    Jan 25, 2012 @ 10:35:08

    Hi Vickie!
    Is this a greek thing? Don’t the greeks use windex for medical stuff? hahahaha Anyway, who would have thought that inexpensive household cooking supplies could help with medical issues?

    Reply

  3. vjkline
    Sep 19, 2014 @ 12:53:30

    I’m sorry, I do not have any video. This type of treatment doesn’t work for everyone, but gave me some comfort and relief. Thanks for writing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

