Battling Nasal and Sinus Congestion

Who can keep track of all the things that cause sinus congestion? I certainly can’t, because it can range from seasonal allergies, to a common cold, to chronic sinusitis. Whatever the cause, I am always working to battle the condition without taking prescription or over-the-counter medications.

My greatest challenge is bed time when I lie down. Once in a horizontal position, my sinuses begin to fill up and I have difficulty breathing through my nose. This not only interrupts my sleep, but my husband’s as well because I tend to snore. I know it’s hard to imagine, but I must confess that I can snore with the best of them. But, it’s all due to nasal congestion.

Last fall a friend introduced me to a natural remedy; an herbal aromatherapy oil used in your nose called Nasosympatico, containing a mixture of almond, eucalyptus, peppermint, thyme, and lavender oils. The inexpensive 1-ounce bottle I have was purchased online through Wise Woman Herbals, although I have recently had problems on their website. I searched other sites and found it available through PureFormulas.

I dip a Q-tip into the bottle for a small amount of oil and then swab the inside of my nose. This is recommended up to three times per day. At three times per day, my nose seemed to get a bit dry and was uncomfortable. I cut back to using the oil once daily just prior to bedtime and it works great. The scent is naturally pleasant and keeps me breathing easily through the night. Here’s to a good night’s sleep and no snoring…

Strive to be healthy!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Linda
    Feb 14, 2012 @ 10:24:35

    “Breathe-Rite” strips work really well for night time stuffiness, too,

    Reply

  2. Rose Hashemi
    Feb 16, 2012 @ 12:45:15

    Good! I hope this works for me Vickie. I apparently snore like a freight train. ;-(
    Thanks so much. Rose H.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

