Using Essential Oils

With my allergies, I am extremely sensitive to fragrance. This means I cannot wear most perfumes, must avoid others who wear strong perfume, and have to be sure my body lotions do not contain any fragrance. Any one of these things can cause me to wheeze and cough with a burning in my throat and eyes. But yet, I like to smell nice… so I went on a search for a way to have fragrance in my life without having allergic reactions.This is when I discovered the wonderful world of essential oils and the many ways to incorporate them into my life.

I place a few drops of Lavender oil on or around my pillow at bedtime. This gives me a soothing scent through the night and helps me sleep. Each time I change my bed sheets, I place four to five drops of my favorite oil on the mattress pad before putting clean sheets on the bed. It gives the whole bedroom a wonderful fragrance.

My cats get flea treatments made of cold compressed olive oil and rosemary. Use one teaspoon of olive oil and one-half teaspoon of rosemary oil. Use it just the same as standard treatments by placing the mixture between your cat’s shoulder blades high on the neck where they cannot lick it.

I wear essential oils as my perfume. I used to mix two parts vegetable oil, one part alcohol, a little water, and four to five drops of the essential oil. This works great, but I got tired of mixing all the time. I found I can purchase essential oils in a spray form that is safe to use directly on my skin through Zum Mist.

Growing up I always heard that Vitamin E cream was the best way to prevent scarring from cuts, scratches, and wounds. These days, the newest form of scar reduction is to use essential oils. Never put raw oil directly on the affected area, but make mixtures using a carrier oil as follows:

Helichrysum is a good foundation for blends to heal the skin. If you have a recent injury, use Helichrysum with a carrier oil such as Rosehip or Tamanu Nut. This combination will heal wounds with minimal or no scarring. If your wound is already healed and you wish to reduce the scarring and soften the skin, use Lavender oil. Lavender and Rosemary have gentle anti-inflammatory properties and are very soothing. Sage oil is also beneficial in healing old or unsightly scars with natural regenerative properties that promote circulation. Increased circulation gently breaks down tough skin resulting from wound healing and will lessen scarring.

The Helichrysum and Tamanu Nut oils may be difficult to find, so the simple blends of olive oil with Lavender and/or Rosemary is a good starting point. These two are also less expensive and available in most health food stores. In Wichita, you will find all types of oils at Food For Thought, Whole Foods, or Green Acres.

A good group of essential oils to start your collection would be Lavender, Rosemary, Patchouli, and Clary Sage. One of these four, mixed with an olive oil or a fragrance free lotion, can be used in many ways. Find out more at essentialoilsbasics.com and youngliving.com.

So, bring essential oils into your life and enjoy health benefits through a restful night’s sleep, wound care and healing, smelling nice, and being more earth friendly.

Strive to be healthy!

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Monica
    Apr 10, 2012 @ 10:17:11

    We have recently started using Tea Tree Oil for various uses around here. I have found it works well on cold sores, especially when mixed with a cream containing zinc (think diaper rash creams). So thrilled to finally have a natural remedy that works relatively quickly in comparison to, well, everything else out there.

    I like lotions from Alba Botanica. They have a lightly scented and an unscented version, I find them at Target but have seen them at health food stores as well. They seem pricey until you realize how much you pay for stuff at Bath and Body Works.

    I really like the scent of Patchouli, I have several candles around the house with that scent.

    Thanks for the informative post!!

    Reply

  2. Monica
    Apr 10, 2012 @ 10:19:27

    I forgot to mention, another use for any essential oil of which you like the smell… If you use wool dryer balls (instead of commercial dryer sheets) you can inject a few drops of your favorite scent into the dryer balls and it will make your laundry smell nice and naturally fresh.

    Reply

  3. Susan Wrampe
    Apr 10, 2012 @ 20:08:05

    Vickie,
    Check out Flinthills Aromatherapy. She has oil blends for all sorts of conditions. My daughter swears by the Pam’s blend.

    Reply

  4. Susan Wrampe
    Apr 10, 2012 @ 20:09:06

    Ugh. Stupid autocorrect! PMS blend

    Reply

  5. Mohammed Fuoco
    Nov 18, 2012 @ 01:20:15

    Rosemary oil on the other hand is also rich in omega 6 and other essential fatty acids. ..

    Most current content produced by our own web blog
    http://www.healthmedicinelab.com/ovarian-cyst-pain/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

