SENSITIVITY TO GLUTEN OR WHEAT? by Vickie Kline

A little over one month ago, I decided to do some research on gluten intolerance. It seems to be the new up-and-coming health issue these days and I was curious about it. I thought it would make good information for my blog… that possibly I could post something currently of interest to all.

What I found was surprising. I found a description of myself in the symptoms listed for gluten intolerance or wheat allergies. I don’t believe in self-diagnosis, but it’s difficult to ignore all the similarities. So, I kept reading and researching the topic to find many different views and perspectives. Very interesting info…

I won’t bore you with all the details, but I have a weakened immune system, which causes annoying allergy problems of all kinds – from nasal, to respiratory, to skin rashes, etc. (I won’t give you the complete list because you’d quit reading right here). But, these issues are what keeps me on the constant search for healthy ways to live that can possibly decrease my health challenges. I’m always willing to try new things and investigate ways to improve my health. When I read about gluten intolerance or wheat allergies… I thought, what have I got to lose? I’ll try going gluten-free and see what happens. So, here I go! I’m going to take the next month and share my experiences here and how eliminating gluten/wheat from my diet impacts my health. It will be an interesting journey…

These are some interesting facts I discovered while reading up on the topic: 1) A person can be gluten intolerant, gluten sensitive, have wheat allergies, or wheat sensitivity. These are four different problems that have similar symptoms, but vary in severity and treatment. (More on this in the weeks to follow). 2) Either gluten intolerance or wheat sensitivity affects 15% of the U.S. population. 3) Top symptoms listed for gluten/wheat intolerance or sensitivity: abdominal pain and cramping, anemiaarthritis, bloating, bone density loss, fatigue, headaches, hypoglycemia, joint pain, and dermatitis or skin rashes. 4) All of these symptoms can be exacerbated by stress.

Check back over the next month if you’re interested in learning more about gluten/wheat intolerance and sensivities. It may be of help to you or someone you know.

Strive to be healthy!

Leave a Reply

