GLUTEN FREE UPDATE by Vickie Kline

Last week my blog explained why I made the decision to go gluten-free. I have been wheat/gluten-free since Memorial Day weekend and here’s the latest:

As with any drastic diet change, the first thing I did was make an appointment with a nutritionist at Innerworks Holistic Health Center. I wanted a health professional to monitor my progress and make sure I wasn’t depriving myself of essential nutrients and vitamins. I met Barbara, who is a Board Certified Holistic Nurse that believes in treating with lifestyle and nutrition first. This first appointment consisted mostly of gathering my health history and getting to know each other a bit. The nutritionist ordered some blood work to check my general health, along with the always dreaded cholesterol, triglyceride, and sodium checks. I am happy to report all appears within normal range. I am a bit low on Vitamin D, so plan to work that into my vitamin regimen.

The second thing I did was join a CSA (Community Supported Agriculture) program called Homegrown Kansas. This is a local alliance between farmers and consumers where I receive a share of produce and herbs every week. I pick up my first bag later today, so I’ll have more to report on that next week. But, I thought this would be a great addition to the vegetables and herbs I have in my own garden and save money too. In the meantime I have been eating more organic fruits and veggies from the Natural Grocers and Green Acres Market, and working to balance my eating plan.

Item number three was to increase my exercise level. Barbara, from Innerworks, explained that a little exercise more often is better than once or twice per week. Previously, I would exercise, but think I was overdoing it because my muscles and joints would be sore. Then I would have to sit out a few days until I felt like doing something again. I head to water aerobics once a week now, which I really enjoy. Every day I plan to try and do something… even if it’s only a walk around the block. My new mantra, “A little, more often, is better.” (Thanks Barbara)

Okay – results so far: I have been feeling great. My energy level is better… it’s easier to get up in the morning… I haven’t been hungry… and I’m gaining muscle tone. Meals take a bit more planning now, but it’s fun to see what I can come up with that’s healthy, tasty, and something my husband will eat.

I’ll have more to report next week on my journey to health. Thanks for joining me!

Strive to be healthy!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Monica
    Jul 03, 2012 @ 12:38:23

    Cod liver oil (we have capsules) is a great place to supplement some of your VitD.

    Have you heard of Azure Standard? It’s a co-op a bunch of my friends order from, they have a monthly pickup here in Wichita.

    Reply

  2. Tammy
    Jul 04, 2012 @ 10:39:00

    Good luck with your CSA. If you’re new to it, it can be a little stressful – “what am I going to do with all that?” but there are great resources through blogging to use it up. Enjoy

    Reply

    • vjkline
      Jul 04, 2012 @ 17:21:11

      Thanks for the tip… you’re exactly right, I got all that and thought, I will never use all this. But am researching ways to put it to good use. Thanks for reading.

      Reply

  3. Sheryl
    Jul 07, 2012 @ 15:58:52

    I just emailed the CSA you mentioned to see if they have any subscriptions left. Do you like it so far?

    Reply

    • vjkline
      Jul 08, 2012 @ 09:35:35

      Hi Sheryl. I picked up my first box this past Tuesday. It was beautiful and we have been eating great food this week. Check out my blog post this Tuesday for more info.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

