GLUTEN FREE AND CELEBRATING by Vickie Kline

If you’ve been reading my blogs, you know I’ve been working to go gluten-free and change my eating habits. Well, I must say, life is good, I’m excited, and feeling great. This new eating plan is something to celebrate!

I have been challenged with health issues all my life. Through changing the way I eat and going gluten-free with almost no processed foods, I am experiencing amazing results. I was previously diagnosed with chronic shingles. This means I would have a shingles breakout often – anywhere from two to three times per month. The cycle for a shingles breakout is 7 to 10 days, so by the time one was finishing, I had the beginnings of the next. It was a terrible cycle that I’ve spent years trying to break. I’ve been through rounds of Acyclovir, allergy shots, applying creams/ointments, taking pain medications… with nothing really making a difference… until now. Since I began eating gluten-free on Memorial Day weekend, I have not had a shingles breakout. Let’s count it together – that’s six weeks – and I’m shingles-free. Unbelievable!

Also with my new eating plan, I began participating in a local CSA program. Last week I picked up my first bag of food and was amazed at the contents. All items were fresh and beautiful, and the cost much less than what I would have paid at the grocery store for the same items. (This is an actual picture of what I received). The best thing is, these are locally grown right here in my own city. I’m not only doing something good for me, but supporting local growers at the same time. I’m anxious to pick up my second bag tomorrow. I feel like it’s a special surprise each week as I unwrap the items and discover the contents. Then I have a grand time planning my menus for the week and making sure I use all the items. The peach salsa this week was very tasty!

As I continue with this blog, I will give updates on my personal situation, but will also get back to more HEALTHFUL TIPS AND REMEDIES, originally the intention of this site. But, I thank you for reading and letting me share…

Strive to be healthy!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Tammy
    Jul 10, 2012 @ 23:08:05

    That is an amazing story! I haven’t heard of chronic shingles and am so sorry that you had it. So happy that eating gluten free has stopped it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

