SNORING by Vickie Kline

This topic is on my mind today because my husband has slept in a different room the past couple of nights. Yes, my name is Vickie Kline and I snore. Oh my gosh… I never thought I would admit that because I find it embarrassing. It’s usually men who snore and I’ve heard tales of wives who have tried everything to get a good night’s sleep. I guess this ailment goes with my history of allergy problems and I should face it head on and determine how to change the situation before my husband moves out of our bedroom for good!

I’ve tried several things previously and good results. I find though, it has a great deal to do with how other things are going in my life. What have I recently eaten that may have caused increased congestion due to allergies? Am I having drainage down the back of my throat? How tired am I? How much alcohol have I consumed? I realize snoring is caused and impacted by many other things in my life. If I work on changing these things, my snoring decreases and I don’t have to sleep alone.

These are the typical remedies for snoring:

1. Change your sleep position: If you tend to sleep on your back, you may have an issue with the base of your tongue and soft palate collapsing to the back of your throat. This will cause a vibrating sound during sleep. If you change positions and sleep on your side, you may prevent this. I very often start out on my side, but turn on my back during sleep without realizing it. Okay, here’s what’s recommended to keep you lying on your side: A full-length body pillow for support will keep you on your side. Or, taping tennis balls to the back of your pajamas. I think I’ll call Victoria’s Secret and see if they have lingerie with tennis ball packets in the back. My hubby would think that was cool.

2. Lose weight: If a person gains weight in the neck area, it can squeeze the internal diameter of the throat causing it to collapse during sleep, which may increase snoring. Who do we call for neck exercises?

3. Avoid alcohol: Alcohol and sleeping aides reduce the resting tone of the muscles in the back of your throat, making it more likely you will snore. Drinking alcohol four to five hours before retiring for the night will make snoring worse. So the question is a toss-up between hubby in bed and my red wine with dinner. I’ll have to mull that one over…

4. Open nasal passages: If you snore due to congestion and closed nasal passages, this may be helpful. Using steam from a hot shower before going to bed may help unclog your nasal passages, using a neti pot to rinse your nasal passages, or applying nasal strips at bedtime may all help you sleep without disturbing your partner.

5. Change your pillow: Allergens in your bedroom and in your pillow may be a contributing factor to snoring. When did you last replace your pillow or dust your overhead ceiling fan? (What? You have to dust those things?) Anything that increases an allergic reaction may increase your snoring. So check on pet dander, your pillow, bed linens, etc.

6. Stay well hydrated: Drinking plenty of fluids will liquify nasal secretions and help move them through instead of becoming sticky and causing congestion, which can lead to snoring.

7. Use nasosympatico: This is a blend of natural oils that open up nasal passages and help you breathe easier while sleeping. It’s very similar to using Vick’s vapor rub or some type of menthol product to keep airways open and functioning properly.

I have tried many of these and had some relief, but have back slidden and gotten lazy. I think I just need that occasional reminder to be aware of my overall health and how getting lazy will impact many parts of my life, one of those being my sleep (and another person’s sleep). Today I will drink more water, decrease my alcohol intake in the evening, and dust my ceiling fan.

Mikey – will you come back to bed now???

Strive to be healthy!

Information shared courtesy of WebMD.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. mikey
    Nov 20, 2012 @ 12:12:58

    I will always be there for you (LOL!). But give me just 5 more minutes…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

