RESTLESS LEG SYNDROME DEFEATED by Vickie Kline

Those who struggle with Restless Leg Syndrome (RLS) need no definition or description of the condition. But, for others who are not exactly sure what it is or are curious about symptoms, please read on:

perrier_sparkling_mineral_water-400-400RLS is a strange condition typically described as a tingling, aching, or burning sensation in the thighs and calves when lying down, causing involuntary movement of the legs. RLS is not a major illness, but is uncomfortable and can lead to other issues because of lack of sleep.

Several years ago, I thought RLS was a fact of life I had to accept and had no control over. I never thought of it as a medical condition… just an annoyance leading to insomnia and frustration. Very often I felt sluggish and irritable during the day because of the interrupted sleep during the night.

When I began addressing my health issues, I had appointments at Innerworks Holistic Health Center on a regular basis. While discussing my lack of energy and general fatigue, I mentioned losing sleep due to RLS. The health care worker shared a simple remedy I believe was a major turning point in my health care routine. I was told to drink a 4-ounce glass of mineral water within 5 to 10 minutes of going to bed each night. I know… you think this is crazy and question whether it will work, but if you suffer from RLS, I urge you to give it a try. Again, you must drink at least four ounces and it must be within a few minutes of turning out the light to go to sleep.

RLS can also be a symptom of dehydration. So don’t depend only on the mineral water. You need to hydrate adequately throughout the day, as well. Keeping your body supplied with water will reduce (if not eliminate) leg cramps during the night and help with RLS.

Drink plenty of water during the day, top it off with mineral water before bed, and enjoy a good night’s sleep.

Strive to be healthy!

Image courtesy of ImageWiki

Leave a Reply

